Fun on a Sunday   4 comments

So when we last left our intrepid hero he was cursing up a storm about painting! To his surprise, a man named Tim appeared and offered to play against him. Our hero accepted this challenge, and today the DICE WERE ROLLED.

Tim was one of the people who commented on my very profane rant post from last week, and me and him after that began chatting via email. We agreed to meet for a game today, and we also convinced our friends Dan (for me) and Troy (for him) to show up and play. Let me tell you, me and Dan both had a blast and DID NOT PLAY A SINGLE GAME AGAINST ONE ANOTHER WHOOO! Dan actually played 3 games vs my 2. 2 against Troy, one against Tim.

I wanted to talk briefly about the game vs Troy first. It actually was my second game, and was a Battlebox Cryx vs Trolls game. What I did not know was Mangled Metal (Which is what a battlebox game is) has the win condition of kill the caster OR all their warjacks/warbeasts. Troy managed to kill all my jacks, and won. He was great fun to play against, knew the rules well and was very patient.

The game with Tim however was EPIC. We played a 25 point game, and I brought my pGaspy list. Mainly because Tim had never faced Gaspy.

For the record that list is:
pAsphyxious
– 2x Deathripper
– Slayer
Max Bloodgorgers
Gerlak Slaughterborn
Warwitch Siren
2 points left over

I don’t have a model to fill that last 2 points. Gorman eventually, maybe?

He brought the following:

pStryker
– Charger
– Sentinal
– Centurion
Max Gunmages
– Gunmage UA
Gunmage Captain Adept (The gunmage solo)
Black 13th

The game was a knockdown dragout slugfest of awesome. And here is where it got HILARIOUS. Eventually the game came down to me with pGaspy only, vs Tims remaining forces of All 3 Jacks, 2 Gunmages, Stryker, and the Gunmage Solo.

I told him that I REFUSED to just give up! Cause I knew, deep down, that Toruk would lend me strength and allow me to win! So on my fourth to last turn I teleported pGaspy behind a house, forcing him to move up. Next turn I walked out, got Parasite on the Centurion who had only taken 3 damage from a Corrosion effect. Then I teleported to the other side of some rough terrain. On his turn he moved everything up again, and took a few shots and did a bit of damage (I was camping 2). Next turn I put all my chips in and I CHARGE THE CENTURION! I had used my feat a while back so it was 6 focus vs an Arm 18…and within 2 hits I got his shield down. 4 focus left. Within the next 2 hits I got him to literally 1 box left…on his spear arm >.>

It was DO OR DIE! Teleport away, or weather the storm. TORUK PROTECT ME I took the last hit (thank god for sustained attack). Hit, killed the Centurion.

On his turn he dumped EVERY Shot into me. And…only took me down to half. He left pStryker within charge distance of Gaspy. 7 focus on my turn, Charge, boost, hit, and begin the sustained attack. 3 focus later and I won.

Sweet mother of god I should not have won. Next week the league starts and I will be going in on Sunday’s to participate. Mostly against Troy and Tim to start. Its a slow grow and I am gonna use my Cryx. Lets see what happens next week!

Posted April 22, 2012 by Clayton in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

4 responses to “Fun on a Sunday

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds awesome! I usually prefer the bold, close games.

  2. NOoooooooo! pStryker!!!!!! You have failed me again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

