pMagnus 35 Points: Thoughts?   3 comments

So I was messing around, trying to come up with a 35 point Four Star merc force. I liked some of the suggestions I got from Von, so I went with that as my basis. Here is what I came up with.

Magnus the Traitor
Renegade
Renegade
Mariner
Steelhead Halberdiers (Leader and 5 Grunts)
Steelhead Heavy Cavalry (Leader and 2 Grunts)
Stannis Brocker
Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile
Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord

That leaves me with 2 points. With those I can either max out the Steelhead Halberdiers to 10, I can get Dirty Meg for a Jack Marshall (The Mariner) / Repair Person, I can add Kell Bailoch for Sniper Power, Doc Killingsworth for some healing power for Magnus or I could add a Sea Dog Deck Gun for some Artillery.

Not sure what to go with to be honest.

The main idea is use the Haberdiers as a Tarpit / Threat in the center of the board, the Cav to run in with the flank bonus to cause more damage, and Stannis to let them do their crazy shennanigans. Lets not forget the guns either.

The master Gunner is there to boost my Mariner, and when its time to let the 2 Renegades and the Mariner rain AOE Death. The Gobber is there simply because I had a spare point but I could drop him easily. Rhupert is there to help the Steelhead be more of a pain in the rear (Tough!).

More then likely Magnus will be casting Blur on himself or the Steelhead, Snipe on his Mariner (19in RNG AOE? Yes please), and Tempered Armor on one of the Renegades to protect it (more armor)

Iron Agression will most likely be used on the other Renegade just because its free to Upkeep.

Any suggestions or thoughts?

Also be warned: This may be something you face in the The Vassal Challenge for those of you who are curious. Its always best to have some options ain’t it?

3 responses to “pMagnus 35 Points: Thoughts?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. While I’m no Magnus expert or merc expert, I think your list might have some trouble cracking high arm. The one time I did play Magnus it was his Agenda contract and it was against Khador with 4 warjacks. I had longgunners and they were the only thing to really crack the high armor.

    The only thing I would suggest is to swap out a Renegade for a Nomad. They’re the same point cost. Other than that, I always tell people to test their list out before they make any changes. Have fun and I might have to break out a game in vassal against you. It’s been a while since I did.

    • The Steelhead have CMA which can help crack some heavy armor.

      As I said I got 2 points left over so I could fill those out, have a full unit of 10 Steelhead. That could crack almost anything.

  2. I support expanding the Steelheads to ten models, or adding Gorman (his Rust Bombs come in handy for splitting open high ARM, and with one of those on a target you can either shell it into oblivion or set up a synergistic Steelhead Cavalry charge).

    Iron Aggression isn’t that spectacular on a Renegade – it really shines on a ‘jack that has Reach and/or Thresher. Maybe you could swap out the spell on the Mariner for Iron Aggression if you find yourself Threshering or wanting to Trample.

    Snipe is decent on Gorman (allowing him to lob bombs from slightly further than death-by-scatter range) and I think it’d be interesting on McNaile – doesn’t he have some funky ranged attacks?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

